It’s time for the 2017 MMA Awards

It’s time for the 2017 MMA Awards

We’re excited to present the first ever Year-End Awards.

It’s time for some year-end shenanigans. Mike Swick, Evan Shoman and Dan Rose have decided to throw our hats into the ring of nominating and crowning award winners for an amazing 2017 year in fighting.  It seemed like a fun idea and a break from covering Conor McGregor’s latest antics or sharing knockout videos with you violence-hungry crazies. So settle down, grab a cup of coffee and check out the 2017 MMA Awards.

You’ll see some of the same categories here that you’ll see elsewhere, but you’ll also see some unique and fun categories as well. So grab yourself a nice cup of eggnog, and enjoy our first ever awards article.

Fight of the Year

Mike: Justin Gaethje vs Michael Johnson

Evan: Justin Gaethje vs Michael Johnson

Dan: Justin Gaethje vs. Michael Johnson – That fight was bananas. Gaethje was in a couple of absolute wars this year.

Fighter of the Year

Mike: Khabib – Made the next best contender look easy.

Evan: Max Holloway

Dan: Robert Whittaker – He beat two absolute killers in Yoel Romero and Jacare Souza.

Submission of the Year

Mike: Demetrious Johnson’s suplex-to-armbar of Ray Borg

Evan: Demetrious Johnson’s suplex-to-armbar of Ray Borg

Dan: Demetrious Johnson’s amazing throw into armbar against Ray Borg

Knockout of the Year

Mike: Paul Daley knock out of Brendan Ward

Evan: Francis Ngannou > Alistair Overeem

Dan: This one is tough. NGannou nearly decapitated Overeem. Paul Daley’s knee against Brennan Ward was nuts! Matt Brown’s Hellbow against Diego Sanchez was violence incorporated. I am going to go with Paul “Semtex” Daley kneeing Ward. Just so violent.

Newcomer of the Year

Mike: Darren Till

Evan: Darren Till

Dan: Volkan Oezdemir – One year, three fights and now a world title shot. Boom.

Moment of the Year

Mike: Rose achieving gold

Evan: Rose Namajunas beating Joanna.

Dan: Rose becoming Champion defeating Joanna Jedrzejczyk  2nd – GSP returns and chokes Bisping unconscious.

Biggest Story of 2017

Mike: Obviously May/Mac

Evan: The stupidity that was McGregor vs Mayweather.

Dan: Can’t beat the circus that was #MAYMAC – A close second, however, is Jon Jones screwing Jon Jones yet again.

Funniest moment of 2017

Mike: When Werdum went straight primal with a boomerang.

Evan: Brendan Schaub’s ridiculous love affair for Conor McGregor.

Dan: I know Evan won’t like it, but, “Who the fook is that guy?”

Who will be UFC champions this time next year?

Mike: Khabib will be the biggest!

Evan: Idk. This is 2017 we are talking about.

Dan: Rose Namajunas, Joanna Champion, Holly Holm, Cyborg, Demetrious Johnson, Cody Garbrandt, Max Holloway, Khabib Nurmagomedov, Darren Till, Luke Rockhold, DC & Stipe Miocic. 🙂